The General Union of Tunisian Workers endorses President Ben Ali's bid for the October 2004 presidential elections

01/09/2004-- President Zine El Abidine Ben Ali received the following message from the Tunisian General Union of Labor (UGTT):

President Zine El Abidine Ben Ali,
President of the Republic,

Il is my pleasure to extend to you the greetings and feelings of consideration of the members of the UGTT national administrative commission, meeting in Tunis on August 31, 2004, to examine the issue of the presidential and legislative elections due to be held next October in our country.

The national administrative commission of the Tunisian General Union of Labor has decided, after a free and democratic discussion, to endorse your candidacy to the next presidential term and to call upon trade-unionists and workers to vote for you in implementation of this decision.

Mr. President,

The decision by the national administrative commission of the of the Tunisian General Union of Labor is only natural considering what the trade-unionists have received from you in terms of your support for the independence of the General Union of Tunisian Workers, your standing by the workers and being attentive to their concerns and aspirations, your continued promotion of social dialogue and consolidation of mutual-help and national solidarity.

This decision is a reassertion of the trade-unionists' support to the work of reform and renewal which you have engaged since the beginning of the Change, to ensure Tunisia's success in strengthening the country's invulnerability, consecrating democracy, establishing social justice and boosting the development process, so as to enable the country to reach the level of developed countries.

This decision constitutes also a recognition of the successes achieved by our country under your wise leadership in the various fields in a manner that has ensured the stability of our society and safeguarded the purchasing power of the workers, improved the living conditions of citizens, consolidated the achievements of Tunisian women. Such achievements have spared Tunisia the dangers of violence and extremism.

We look forward, with optimism, to your next five-year term as a term where additional accomplishments will be achieved towards anchoring freedoms, boosting our development effort and consolidating our people's social and civilizational achievements.

May God grant you success and guidance for the good of our people and country.

Abdessalem Jerad
UGTT Secretary General

L'UGTT soutient la candidature du Président Ben Ali à l'élection présidentielle d'octobre 2004

 01/09/2004-- Le Président Zine El Abidine Ben Ali a reçu un message de l'Union G énérale Tunisienne du Travail (UGTT), dont voici le texte :

''Monsieur le Président Zine El Abidine Ben Ali, Président de la République, il me plaît de vous transmettre les salutations et les sentiments de considération des membres de la commission administrative nationale de l'Ugtt, réunie le 31 août 2004, à Tunis, et qui a examiné la question des élections présidentielle et législatives qui auront lieu en octobre prochain dans notre pays.

 La commission administrative nationale de l'Union a décidé, après un débat libre et démocratique, de soutenir votre candidature au prochain mandat présidentiel, et appelé les syndicalistes et les travaileurs à vous accorder leurs voix, en consécration de cette décision.

 Monsieur le Président,
La décision de la commission administrative nationale de l'Union reflète tout naturellement la reconnaissance des syndicalistes pour le respect sincère que vous portez à l'indépendance de l'Ugtt, l'attachement à soutenir les travailleurs, manuels et intellectuels, l'intérêt accordé à leurs préoccupations et aspirations et le souci constant de renforcer le dialogue social et de consolider l'entraîde et la solidarité nationales.

 Cette décision est une réaffirmation du soutien des syndicalistes à l'oeuvre de réforme et de renouveau que vous avez engagée depuis l'avènement du changement, en vue d'assurer le succès de la marche du pays sur la voie de la consolidation de l'invulnérabilité de la nation, de la consécration de la démocratie, de l'instauration de la justice sociale et de l'accélération du rythme de développement, de manière à permettre à la Tunisie d'accéder au rang des pays avancés.

 Cette décision est également une reconnaissance des réussites accomplies par notre pays, sous votre sage conduite, dans les différents domaines, réussites qui ont permis de garantir la stabilité de notre société, de protéger le pouvoir d'achat des travailleurs, d'améliorer les conditions de vie des citoyens et de consolider les acquis de la femme tunisienne, autant de réalisations qui ont prémuni la Tunisie des dangers de la violence et de l'extrémisme.

 Nous aspirons avec optimisme à ce que les cinq prochaines années connaissent, sous votre présidence, davantage d'acquis sur la voie de l'enracinement des libertés, de l'impulsion de notre processus de développement et de l'intensification des acquis sociaux et civilisationnels de notre peuple.

 Puisse Dieu vous accorder la réussite et assurer vos pas, pour le bien de notre peuple et de notre nation''.

Le secrétaire général :
Abdessalam Jerad